Brazil: All units in Brazilian waters are required to receive ISM Code certification

The Brazilian Maritime Authority – Directorate of Ports and Coasts (DPC) issued a new amendment concerning the units operating in Brazilian waters, which will have to require certificates under the International Safety Management (ISM) Code until December 31, 2020.

Specifically, the Authority highlights that vessels sailing in Brazilian waters are required to receive certification by the ISM. The units are:

  1. self-propelled mobile offshore units (MOUs);
  2. MOUs without propulsion; and
  3. fixed platforms.

Leave a Comment

Join Our Newsletter
Enter your email to receive a weekly round-up of shipping news.